Councillor Wain is the new Civic Chairman

Matlock ward member Councillor Steve Wain is Derbyshire Dales District Council’s civic leader in the coming year.

A district councillor since 2019, the former Derbyshire Constabulary detective sergeant succeeds Councillor Helen Froggatt as Civic Chairman and will represent the district across the county in 2021/22.

Thanking fellow councillors at a socially distanced annual meeting held in the sports hall at Wirksworth Leisure Centre last Thursday (27 May), Councillor Wain, who is also Mayor of Matlock said:
"Most of you know how passionate I am about this area and it's particularly poignant I should be appointed to this role in the school I attended as a teenager. I have happy memories of being here and I am now happy to accept this new challenge.
“We live in a beautiful area of historical significance and beauty. Over the past year we have benefited from our countryside and green spaces and I am committed to protecting these important spaces.
“As I travel around the Dales I propose to engage with other communities and available external partners to ensure that we promote this council's commitment to supporting and developing business, protecting the environment and reducing the damaging effect of climate change.”
Proposing Councillor Wain‘s appointment, Councillor Steve Flitter said:
“Is it any wonder that he is passionate about where he chose to live, work and raise a family with his wife Alison.
“He is inspired and motivated by those around him and their commitment and drive to be heard when faced with local government bureaucracy and yet he is fully aware of the process of local government and the difficulties that come with reduced budgets, legal constraints and all these are qualities for an effective Civic Chair.”
Seconding the nomination, Councillor Peter O’Brien said:
"During the last two years as Steve Wain has gone about his work as a district councillor he has shown he is able to listen, to learn and appreciate the views of others - attributes that are often very sadly lacking in today's public service. He is a person of passion and a person of integrity of whom his constituents, his party and his family can be justly proud."
Councillor Steve Wain Civic Chairman 2021 22 510px
Lathkill and Bradford ward member Councillor Graham Elliott was appointed Deputy Civic Chairman of the Derbyshire Dales.

Also at Thursday’s annual meeting, Councillors Garry Purdy and Susan Hobson were elected respectively as Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council.

Other appointments for 2021/22 included Councillor Sue Bull as Council Chairman, replacing Councillor Richard Fitzherbert, who stepped down after six years in the role. Councillor Andrew Shirley continues as Deputy Chairman.

Replacing Councillor Bull as Chairman of the Council’s Governance & Resources Committee is Councillor Tom Donnelly, and Councillor Chris Furness continues as Chairman of the Community & Environment Committee.

The Planning Committee will continue to be chaired by Councillor Jason Atkin, and Councillor Tony Morley was elected Chairman of the Licensing Committee.

Watch Councillor Wain's acceptance speech below:

Matlock ward member Councillor Steve Wain is Derbyshire Dales District Council’s civic leader in the coming year.

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter