Longest serving councillor continues as Leader

The only councillor to serve continuously since the inception of Derbyshire Dales District Council 41 years ago will continue to lead the authority.

Cllr Lewis Rose OBECouncillor Lewis Rose OBE has been re-selected as Leader by the controlling Conservative group, which claimed 29 of the 39 seats on the council at the district elections on 7 May.

His Deputy is Councillor Albert Catt, member for Doveridge and Sudbury, who is also in line for the civic post of Chairman of the District of the Derbyshire Dales in 2015/16 subject to a decision of the new administration's first full council meeting on Thursday 28 May.

Cllr Albert CattCouncillor Catt takes over as Deputy Leader from Geoff Stevens, who held the position for 16 years before losing his seat in the Matlock All Saints ward on 7 May.

Councillor Rose, who was unopposed in the Carsington Water ward, has been Leader since 1999 and also held the position from 1987 until 1995 having succeeded former Ashbourne councillor George Ward.

Said Councillor Rose:

"It continues to be a great honour and privilege to play a leading role on the District Council. The challenges don't get any easier and there is much work to be done, but I am delighted to welcome 14 new faces this time around and know that, as a group of councillors, we will do our utmost with the resources we have to serve the interests of the people of the Derbyshire Dales over the next four years."

New councillors 2015 with Councillor Lewis Rose pictured front, centre.
The official opposition group on the council is Labour, which once again won five seats, followed by the Liberal Democrats on three, one less than at the 2011 elections, one Independent and one Other.


Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter