Elections round-up as nominations close

Six candidates will fight the Derbyshire Dales Parliamentary seat at the 7 May General Election.

They are Labour's Andy Botham, the Liberal Democrats' Ben Fearn, the Conservatives' Patrick McLoughlin, the Green Party's Ian Wood, Humanity's Amila Y'Mech and UKIP's John Young.

Ballot boxNominations closed on Thursday (9 April) for the Parliamentary election, which is being organised in the Dales by the District Council, together with the election of new District, Town and Parish councils, a County Council by-election in Ashbourne and a Wirksworth Neighbourhood Plan referendum - all on 7 May.

Nine of the 39 District Council seats are uncontested, with just one candidate standing in the following wards: Brailsford, Carsington Water, Chatsworth, Dovedale & Parwich, Hartington & Taddington, Hulland, Litton & Longstone, Stanton and Winster & South Darley.

Of these, eight are Conservatives, the party that has controlled the council from 2011, including the current Leader Lewis Rose OBE, who has no opposition at Carsington Water.

The ninth uncontested seat is Winster & South Darley, where Colin Swindell – standing as an Independent - is the only candidate.

Twelve well-known current district councillors are not seeking re-election this time around.

They are Steve Bull and Andrew Lewer in Ashbourne, Judith Twigg and Carol Walker in Bakewell, Cate Hunt (Calver), Mike Longden (Chatsworth), David Burton and David Fearn in Darley Dale, Jacque Bevan (Hathersage & Eyam), Bob Cartwright (Masson), Barrie Tipping (Matlock St Giles) and Kenneth Bull (Norbury).

The Ashbourne division County Council seat, vacated by MEP Andrew Lewer, will be fought by Steve Bull for the Conservatives, Simon Meredith for Labour, Vince Rowe for the Liberal Democrats and Andy White for the Green Party.

Election day also affects the 71 Town and Parish Councils in the Derbyshire Dales.

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter