We are experiencing problems with phone payments. For help please call 01629 761166

Elections results service

The Liberal Democrats are the largest party on the District Council after Rob Archer was re-elected and Nick Wilton took seats in Ashbourne South ward - the final declaration of the day at the Wirksworth Leisure Centre local elections count.

The third seat went to the Conservatives' Anthony Bates. Sitting Conservative councillor Tom Donnelly missed out.

In Ashbourne North, the penultimate ward to be declared, Peter Dobbs took one of the two seats for the Liberal Democrats at the expense of outgoing Council Chairman Sue Bull (Conservative). The other Conservative candidate, Cllr Stuart Lees, retained his seat.

Here's the final make-up of the council, reduced in size from 39 seats to 34 by recent boundary changes:

2023 results screenshot showing the election results

No single party gained enough seats to take overall control of the District Council.

Earlier in the day, Dermot Murphy, David Chapman, Tony Morley, Nigel Walker, Sue Hobson, Mark Wakeman, Geoff Bond and Gareth Bryn Gee held for the Conservatives, Nick Whitehead won the new Matlock Bath and Cromford ward for Labour and Matt Buckler (Green Party) returned in the new Bonsall and Winster ward. There was a Conservative gain in Doveridge & Sudbury, where John Bointon ousted current Independent councillor Jacquie Allison.

There was a big win for Labour's Andy Nash in Bradwell with 74% of the vote - a gain from the Conservatives. The Greens' Neil Buttle held Tideswell and fellow Green candidate Kelda Rose Boothroyd gained Calver & Longstone from the Conservatives. Laura Mellstrom won Youlgrave for the Greens, beating current civic chairman Graham Elliott.

A clean sweep for the Liberal Democrats in Darley Dale, where they displaced three Conservatives. Former civic chairman David Burton is back, topping the poll, along with Marilyn Franks and Roger Shelley.

Another clean sweep for the Liberal Democrats in the renamed Matlock West ward, where Councillors Sue Burfoot, Martin Burfoot and Steve Wain were re-elected to the council.

Peter O’Brien (standing as himself) returns with Simon Ripton (Labour Party) - they took the two seats in Hathersage.

A clean sweep for Labour in Wirksworth, where they held all three seats. Councillors Peter Slack and Dawn Greatorex returned to the council with new councillor Lucy Peacock.

A clean sweep too for the Liberal Democrats in the renamed Matlock East and Tansley ward, where Councillors Steve Flitter and David Hughes returned with new councillor Joanne Linthwaite. It means the Lib Dems have once again taken all six seats in Matlock.

The overall turnout figure for the Derbyshire Dales on 4 May was 43.1%, which is a 1% improvement on the 2019 District/Parish elections. Top turnout ward yesterday was Hathersage (53%), followed by Youlgrave (50%) & Bakewell (47%).

count floor 2023

Winning candidates

Here's a photo gallery of the winning candidates.

Results by ward

Ashbourne North

ashbourne north result

Ashbourne South

ashbourne south result


bakewell result

Bonsall and Winster

bonsall and winster




brailsford result

Calver and Longstone

calver and longstone result


chatsworth ward result

Cromford and Matlock Bath

cromford and matlock bath ward result

Darley Dale

darley dale ward result

Dovedale, Parwich and Brassington

dovedale parwich and brassington ward result

Doveridge and Sudbury

doveridge and sudbury ward result

Hartington and Taddington

hartington and taddington ward result


hathersage ward result


hulland ward result

Matlock East and Tansley

matlock east and tansley ward result

Matlock West

matlock west ward result


norbury ward result


tideswell ward result


wirksworth ward result



More at www.derbyshiredales.gov.uk/electionresults

The 2019 results

district election results slide 2019 1110px

Parish and Town Council results

See the parish and town council results where seats were contested (apologies if the connection is slow).

A-Z of services