New civic leader to revive community awards

Long standing Matlock councillor Steve Flitter is Derbyshire Dales District Council’s civic leader in the coming year.

The Matlock St Giles ward member since 1985 succeeds Councillor Tom Donnelly as Chairman of the District of the Derbyshire Dales, and will represent the district at around 100 engagements in the county in 2017/18.

And Councillor Flitter, pictured here with his wife Ann, who accepted the civic post at the District Council’s annual meeting last Thursday (18 May), is “going back to the future” by reviving the council’s community awards scheme.

No stranger to a chain of office – he has served four terms as Mayor of Matlock – Councillor Flitter has also pledged to raise funds for the local Air Ambulance.

Referring back to popular civic leaders during his time with the District Council, Councillor Flitter, currently the second longest serving councillor on the authority after its leader, Councillor Lewis Rose OBE, told last week’s annual meeting:

"It is an honour to accept the role of chairman of the Derbyshire Dales, particularly in light of previous holders and following in the footsteps of people such as Peggy Edwards, Hubert Doxey and Christine Crowther.

"I am someone who believes in showing respect for the position I hold. I hope I have served this council and the residents of Derbyshire Dales well with fairness and the belief that we all are free to follow our own convictions. I shall not stray from those principals and I shall uphold the values of this council.

“This council is a very different place than in 1985 and the latest buzz words are social cohesion and inclusiveness - so I will put this to the test by resurrecting the community awards scheme and blend that with civic service that clearly supports community involvement. Members can help by nominating residents who have not been recognised before throughout the Dales contributing to sport, youth, the arts or service to the community in any form.

"With over 30,000 followers on social media this council will be asking the whole of the Derbyshire Dales to get involved in fundraising and in return I shall endeavour to visit and support as many events as I can."

Hathersage & Eyam ward member Councillor Jean Monks was appointed Deputy Chairman of the District of the Derbyshire Dales.

Other appointments for 2017/18 included Councillor Jacquie Stevens continuing as chairman of the District Council’s Governance & Resources policy committee, and Councillor Jo Wild as Chairman of the Community & Environment policy committee. The Planning Committee will continue to be chaired by Councillor Garry Purdy.

Councillor Sir Richard Fitzherbert is once again Council Chairman, leading full meetings of the authority, and Deputy Chairman is Councillor Andrew Shirley.

Long standing Matlock councillor Steve Flitter is Derbyshire Dales District Council’s civic leader in the coming year.

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter