2018 Boundary Review

The Boundary Commission for England is conducting a review of parliamentary constituencies and needs your help.

On this site you can view the Commission's proposals, make comments, see what other people have said and learn about the review.

At a recent full meeting of your District Council members voted to support the proposal for new boundaries to the Derbyshire Dales Parliamentary Constituency. The good news is that the current Derbyshire Dales voting area remains intact, with no proposal by the Boundary Commission to change the Constituency’s name.

The proposal suggests the continued inclusion of areas within Amber Valley District (Alport, Crich and South West Parishes) that are currently part of the Dales Constituency, with additional areas proposed - currently wards in the North East of the county. These wards are Ashover, Barlow and Holmesfield, Brampton and Walton, Dronfield Woodhouse and Wingerworth - a total electorate of 74,324.

The new intake areas are broadly similar in character to the communities of the Derbyshire Dales and the proposed boundary extension helps to create a more uniform size and shape.

The Boundary Commission must make recommendations for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in September 2018 resulting in a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 501. Every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

The East Midlands has been allocated 44 constituencies – a reduction of two from the current number. The Boundary Commission's proposals leave seven of the 46 existing constituencies unchanged.

  • The current consultation on the initial proposals includes a Public Hearing in Derby on 27-28 October at the Opulence Suite, Cathedral Quarter Hotel, 16 Saint Mary's Gate, Derby DE1 3JR.
Proposed Derbyshire Dales constituency boundary

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter