Celebrating our sporting talent

The 2015 Derbyshire Dales Sports Awards take place on Thursday 8 October at the home of Matlock Town Football Club.

To be presented by the Deputy Chairman of the District of the Derbyshire Dales, Councillor Tom Donnelly, the awards are split into nine categories, culminating in the overall Sportsperson of the Year prize.

The evening starts at 7pm and celebrates the sporting achievements of clubs, teams and individuals in the Derbyshire Dales. There will be a live Twitter feed using the #ddsa hashtag.

Sports Awards 2014 winnersThe awards mark the excellence of sports coaches, the achievements of athletes, the commitment of volunteers and the determination and motivation of teams and sports clubs to succeed in a wide range of sports and activities, sometimes in competition and often in difficult situations.

Shortlisted for the first award of the evening, the Young Male Sports Leader of the Year, are Matlock Town FC volunteer coach James Holmes, Matlock Highfields School Leadership Academy member Callum Rose and Wirksworth charity fund-raiser Erik Walker.

The next category is the Young Female Sports Leader of the Year, and shortlisted are Sarah Needham, a former member of the Highfields School Sports Leadership Academy, dance teacher Sophie Spencer and another Highfields School Sports Leadership Academy member, Annabel Macgregor.

Shortlisted in the Volunteer Coach of the Year category are Chris Maycock from Darley Dale Cricket Club, Paul Armitt from Darley Dale Juniors FC and Andy France, Head Coach of Derbyshire Dales Cricket for the past two years and a stalwart at Brailsford Cricket Club.

Then it's on to the Team of the Year, where the shortlisted trio are Ashbourne Ladies' Squash Team, Ashbourne Aztecs U15s and the U15s Wirksworth and Middleton Cricket Team.

Recognising a club's substantial contribution to the local community, the Club of the Year award is contested by Darley Dale Juniors Football Club, Bradwell Bowls Club and Ashbourne Aztecs Football Club.

An Unsung Hero Service to Sport Award will be made to an individual who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to sport as an administrator or official over a minimum of five years.

This will be followed by the Junior Sportsman of the Year prize, made to an athlete who is under 18 and has attained an outstanding level of achievement in their chosen sport. Shortlisted are Welsh, Scottish and English wrestling champion Lewis Brown, Topper UK junior squad sailor George Coles and Finnbarr Brooks, who currently has 11 British titles in speed skating.

Contesting the Junior Sportswoman of the Year award are hockey player Emily Dale, England Ski Cross Team member Isobel Brown and Team GB archer Eva Henderson-Hirst.

The evening will close at around 9pm with the Derbyshire Dales Sportsperson of the Year award, made to someone over 18 who has reached the highest personal sporting achievement.

Find us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter