Police and Crime Commissioner Election 5 May 2016

The Derbyshire Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) election took place on Thursday 5 May.  Hardyal Dhindsa (Labour) was elected as the new Police & Crime Commissioner for Derbyshire with 78,858 votes. In second place was Richard Bright (Conservative) with 77,245. The turnout here in the Derbyshire Dales was 23.4%.

The total after the first round of counting on 6 May was:

  • Labour 66,925
  • Conservative 61,741
  • Liberal Democrat 19,492
  • UKIP 30,381

It meant that Hardyal Dhindsa and Richard Bright went forward to a second and final round of counting, when any second choice votes allocated to the Liberal Democrat and UKIP candidates were taken into account.

Derby City Council was the lead authority for these elections. Voters in 41 police force areas in England & Wales, excluding London, elected a Police and Crime Commissioner for their force area.

The election run in the area of the Derbyshire Dales was managed by Dorcas Bunton, Local Returning Officer (LRO). For more information about the election within the Derbyshire Dales please contact electoral@derbyshirdales.gov.uk.  

Visit the Derbyshire Police and Crime Commissioner website for further information about the role of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

How can I vote in PCC Elections?

You must be registered to vote and also meet the following criteria:

  • be 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • be a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union
  • be resident in the UK
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote
  • You can apply to register to vote at www.gov.uk/registertovote. You will need your National Insurance Number to hand. You can also apply to register by contacting us on 01629 761335