Ashbourne county council by-election 2015

Steve Bull has retained the Ashbourne division seat on Derbyshire County Council for the Conservatives.

Cllr Steve BullHe won the 7 May by-election in the division, polling 4,715 votes in a 73.29% turnout.

Second was Labour's Simon John Meredith (965 votes), followed by the Green Party's Andrew White (647) and the Liberal Democrats' David Rowe (543).

The vacancy was created by the resignation of the County Council's former Conservative Leader Andrew Lewer, who is now an MEP.

Councillor Bull, a former Ashbourne town mayor and a policy committee chairman on Derbyshire Dales District Council, stood down from the District Council this time around, and has been replaced in the Ashbourne North ward by his wife Sue.