Derbyshire Dales Civic Chairman

A civic role, the Civic Chairman of the Derbyshire Dales is elected at the annual meeting of the council and serves for a civic year.

The Civic Chairman wears a ceremonial chain of office at official engagements and generally represents the District Council at more than 50 functions throughout the year, organising special fund-raising events for nominated charities.

The role of Civic Chairman is different from that of Chairman of the District Council, which is a more strategic leadership role.

The 2021/22 Civic Chairman of the Derbyshire Dales is Councillor Steve Wain, following on from Councillor Helen Froggatt, whose civic year ended at the District Council's annual meeting on 27 May 2021. 

Councillor Graham Elliott has been appointed Civic Vice-Chairman of the District for the coming year.

Councillor Wain has nominated the Air Ambulance Service as his nominations charity and contributions can be made through the Civic Chairman's Just Giving Page.

Councillor Wain said:

"The Air Ambulance Service operates the local air ambulance services for Derbyshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Warwickshire and Northamptonshire as well as providing the national paediatric and neonatal transfer service and the Children’s Air Ambulance which cover the whole of the UK.

"The Air Ambulance Service does not receive funding from the government for its daily missions. It relies entirely on voluntary donations and support from our communities and business, which means our support will help keep them flying."


Previous Chairmen




  • 2009-10 Cllr D.T. Barker
  • 2008-09 Cllr Mrs C.A. Hunt
  • 2007-08 Cllr K.C. Bull
  • 2006-07 Cllr F.B. Elliott
  • 2005-06 Cllr Mrs I. Ratcliffe
  • 2004-05 Cllr D. Hoskin
  • 2003-04 Cllr J.R. Goodison
  • 2002-03 Cllr I. Bates
  • 2001-02 Cllr T.L. Boam
  • 2000-01 Cllr Mrs C.M.N. Crowther


  • 1999-00 Cllr Mrs J.N. Bevan JP
  • 1998-99 Cllr A.S. Thomas
  • 1997-98 Cllr A.R. Hodkinson
  • 1996-97 Cllr C.P. Brindley
  • 1995-96 Cllr D.R. Burton
  • 1994-95 Cllr C.H. Birch
  • 1993-94 Mrs P.V. Edwards MBE
  • 1992-93 Cllr Mrs J.A. Twigg
  • 1991-92 Cllr Mrs O.M. Allen
  • 1990-91 Cllr Mrs E.M. Plumbly


  • 1989-90 Cllr B. Oldfield
  • 1988-89 Cllr K.C. Bull
  • 1987-88 Cllr C.B. Hoole
  • 1986-87 Cllr Mrs J.T. Naylor
  • 1985-86 Cllr F.W. Glossop
  • 1984-85 Cllr Mrs M.E. Gillan
  • 1983-84 Cllr G.E.M. Stevens
  • 1982-83 Cllr F.E. Holland
  • 1981-82 Cllr J Stevenson MBE
  • 1980-81 Cllr W.H. Doxey MBE, JP


  • 1979-80 Cllr L.R. Rose OBE
  • 1978-79 Cllr Mrs C.M.N. Crowther
  • 1977-78 Cllr G.T. Ward MBE, JP
  • 1976-77 Cllr E.J. Smith
  • 1975-76 Cllr G.J. Peach MBE
  • 1973-75 Cllr D.A. Fisher, JP


A civic role, the Civic Chairman of the Derbyshire Dales is elected at the annual meeting of the council and serves for a civic year.