Quality Assurance Schemes

Quality Star Ratings

4 Star Self Catering logoVisitEngland operates the star-ratings quality assurance scheme for accommodation and attractions.  The scheme is operated by the AA, whose assessors check the levels of services and facilities offered to determine which accommodation type is awarded which star rating.   All types of holiday accommodation can be part of the scheme, there is a set of standards for each type (hotels, B&Bs, campsites, self-catering holiday cottages etc).

Each year, every aspect of an accommodation is thoroughly inspected from the efficiency of the booking process to the level of service. Cleanliness is the most crucial element of any assessment and minimum standards, particularly at the higher star ratings, reflect consumer expectations.

'Welcome' schemes

Pets Welcome logo 100 wideIn addition your property can be accredited under one or more of the 'Welcome' schemes.  These schemes highlight places that provide certain facilities or services to welcome specific groups. These assessments must be booked in conjunction with an annual Quality in Tourism assessment visit and a small annual fee applies.

  • Cyclists Welcome
  • Walkers Welcome
  • Pets Welcome
  • Families Welcome

 National Accessible Scheme

NAS logoProperties with facilities and services suitable for visitors with disabilities can also be assessed under the National Accessible Scheme, which is split into 3 categories for:

  • Mobility impaired and older people
  • Visually impaired and blind people
  • Hearing impaired and deaf people


Quality ratings for accommodation businesses