EV charging points

In early 2020, more than £200,000 of funding was secured to install electric charging points for up to 26 cars and vans on four sites operated by Derbyshire Dales District Council.

The funding was specifically aimed at increasing the infrastructure for residents who do not have access to off-street parking. At the sites below, you can park for free using your free parking concession permit after 4pm and before 11am each day.

To charge up, motorists need to register and will be issued with a smartcard which is then swiped against a machine to unlock the electricity supply. Please see this link on how to register www.bppulse.co.uk/register

Up to eight vehicles (four EV chargers) are able to charge up at each site at any one time at our car parks here:
  • Ashbourne – Shawcroft car park (7kw)
  • Bakewell – New Street (7kw)
  • Matlock – Edgefold Road (7kw)

In addition, two fast chargers (upto 22kw) are available in Wirksworth - Market Place car park.

The cash was secured by Derbyshire County Council in a scheme delivered by the Energy Saving Trust, and is being funded by the UK government’s Office for Low Emission Vehicles (OLEV) which contributed £145,000 and the charging point provider BP Chargemaster which contributed £55,154.

In line with the Government ambition to reduce emissions from transport as part of their Net Zero Strategy, Derbyshire Dales District Council is working with partners including Derbyshire County Council to understand how we can best support and encourage residents to use electric vehicles.

The District Council wants to help to ensure that the local electric vehicle charging network is reliable, accessible, and meets the demands of our residents. Which was why we conducted a survey in March/Arpil 2022 asking questions which would help us understand the next locations for EV Charging points in the future. The outcome of this will be available in due course.